Written by Allen Steele

Novel (series of five novels + three spin-off novels)

Status: In Development for Television


The crime of the century begins without a hitch. On July 5th, 2070, as it's about to be launched, the starship Alabama is hijacked- by her captain and crew.

In defiance of the repressive government of the United Republic of America, they replace her handpicked passengers with political dissidents and their families. These become Earth's first pioneers in the exploration of space...

After two-and-a-half centuries in cold sleep, they will awaken at their destination: a habitable planet named Coyote. A planet that will test their strength, their beliefs, and their very humanity.

Coyote delivers a galactic adventure - a tale of life on the newest frontier.


ALLEN STEELE was born in Nashville, Tennessee, and received a B.A. in Communications from New England College and a Masters Degree in Journalism from the University of Missouri. His other novels include Orbital Decay, Lunar Descent; Clark County, Space; Labyrinth of Night; The Jericho Iteration, and Chronospace. He is a two time winner of the Hugo Award. 

Steele is a former member of both the Board of Directors and the Board of Advisors for the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, and is also a former advisor for the Space Frontier Foundation. In April, 2001, he testified before the Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics of the U.S. House of Representatives, in hearings regarding space exploration in the 21st century. 

"...each page of this novel bears evidence of fresh thought about the opportunities inherent in science fiction to take the familiar and make it new."

Gerald Jonas - The New York Times Book Review

"It has all the earmarks of great science fiction—rich characters in a desperate situation simultaneously familiar and alien—and embraces the heritage of Joe Haldeman and Robert Heinlein, by capturing a uniquely American vision of the future."

Justin Howe Strange Horizons

"...perhaps the best space-colonization series ever"

Mark Graham -